Welcome to Peanut’s Corner

Literally.

Peanut shares our bedroom with us and we have dubbed this corner “Baby’s corner.”  Yes, we did put baby in the corner.  I know that my friend Rachael appreciates the Dirty Dancing reference.  The crib sheet of course is ever changing – the one in the photo has cursive script that says “I love Mommy.  I love Daddy.”  The other ones we rotate through are pretty basic – a sunny yellow one and a mocha one.  The hot air balloons were purchased a cutesie shop in Ocean Grove and the crib and rug are Ikea.  The beautiful bamboo print was made by my talented sister Mikayla when she was in the 6th grade.  She gave it to hubby and me as a wedding present.

And if you step back from the crib photo this little cabinet is right next to it.  It is a part of my bedroom set that I inherited from my Great Grandmother on my Dad’s side.  It is a heywood wakefield in wheat finish.  I absolutely adore my bedroom set and can’t wait for peanut to have all three pieces in her bedroom someday.  The canvas is another Land of Nod purchase (same as her first ornament).  The frames, flowers, and vase are all ikea.  Beautiful photographs on the wall were taken by the talented Kamila Harris this summer.  The little beaded lamp was a gift from my Grandparents many years ago.  The fabric house was made by my Nana for me when I was a little girl.  Back when I took these pics I was really just testing out my camera so I didn’t think to close the “roof” of the house.  I will have to take a closer photo for a future post.  I use it to store peanut’s little toys and such.  The carving was made by my talented Uncle Tim as a gift for peanut’s baptism.

On the wall is a large framed poem that I have always loved and wanted a constant reminder of:

If I had my child to raise over again

If I had my child to raise over again

I’d finger paint more, and point the finger less.

I’d do less correcting, and more connecting.

I’d take my eyes off my watch, and watch more with my eyes.

I would care to know less, and know to care more.

I’d take more hikes and fly more kites.

I’d stop playing serious, and seriously play.

I would run through more fields, and gaze at more stars.

I’d do more hugging, and less tugging.

I would be firm less often, and affirm much more.

I’d build self-esteem first, and the house later.

I’d teach less about the love of power,

And more about the power of love.

–       Diane Loomans

And a cute little sketch of a girl on the beach (yet another Ocean Grove purchase).  I will try to take some more pics of this.  The shelves were a necessity – you can see that peanut’s sleepers, blankets, and burp cloths are taking over!  The second shelf from the bottom has all of peanut’s books and my Calvin and Hobbes collection.  The very bottom shelf has 5billion binders of notes from graduate school. ick.  The top shelf is my shelf of jewelry, chapstick, and beautiful metallic massaging thing that oh-I-forgot-I-even-had-and-wow-I-could-really-use-that-now.

The top of the bookshelf has some framed photos of me & hubby and my sister.  They were there pre-peanut and haven’t budged since.  You can’t really tell in this photo but there is a basket of baby toys to the right of the cabinet.  Right now it just looks like a heap of baby crap.  Actually, I guess it kinda is.

Hope you enjoyed the peanut corner tour!  Next stop – a view of the whole room!

Leave a comment

Filed under Living in Monmouth County, Peanut's Corner

Leave a Reply

