Post-Holiday Recap – Christmas Day

For the first time ever, hubby and I woke up at our own place on Christmas morning.  It was so great!!  Peanut started off the morning with a little Christmas music:

And then we had some visitors:

Grandpa S.!  (my stepfather)

Nanny!  (my mom) and…..being silly in the background….

AUNT KAYLA!

I could devote a whole other post to Aunt Kayla – my amazing, beautiful, talented, awesome sister – but alas, I will have to save that for another day.  Peanut’s shirt in these pics says “All I want for Christmas is my Auntie.”  Fitting, don’t you think?


And then after we had some brunch and opened some gifts, we headed down to my Aunt’s house to see my mom’s side of the family.  Peanut was a little “passed her peak” and didn’t cooperate for too many photos.  I did snap this one of peanut with my Nana (her Great-Nana, the one who made that adorable fabric house and elfie hat):

and this one with a very interested cousin…

As the kids were all going craaaaaazy with their gifts, I snapped this one of my cousin’s son (isn’t he a cutie??)…

Peanut was MIA for the opening of gifts so I had to open them for her.  I have to say, I was very excited about all of them.

You know you’re a parent when-ism #9: you get excited about infant toys and can’t wait to play with them.

All the gifts were great, but perhaps the coolest thing that peanut received on Christmas Day was this retro teaching clock:

Do any of you remember this??  How cool, right?  Old School!  haha. Opening this gift brought back childhood memories for me.

My Nana gave each family this handmade wall hanging (she also wrote the poem!):

Peanut is lucky – we are all lucky – to have such a loving and thoughtful Nana.  I have already decided on a spot to hang it – er, for hubby to hang it.  Good thing we are moving in July, because I am seriously running out of wall space.  (Not that I am complaining!)

Everyone was so incredibly generous this year!  We still have yet to celebrate with hubby’s family – we are doing that on New Years Eve when his dad will be off the tugboat.  I am sure there will be plenty of photos to share afterwards.  Up next – a recap of Christmas Eve!

2 Comments

Filed under Aunt Kayla, Family, Holidays, Peanut's Toybox

2 responses to “Post-Holiday Recap – Christmas Day

  1. Brigid

    Love the pics of Kayla and [peanut]! What a great first Christmas.

Leave a Reply

