On “being” Irish

I am not Irish at all.  In fact – I knew nothing about Irish traditions or customs before marrying Hubby.  As luck would have it, I married an Irishman (really an Irish-Italian-Polish-German man, but whatever…).  Hubby’s father is 100% Irish so our last name is very Irish.  This year I decided it was time to “earn” my married name and make an Irish meal for Hubby’s family.

I made corned beef & cabbage with potatoes and veggies:

(before you get all impressed – let me mention that this was a one-pot wonder meal)

And some Irish potatoes!

I was so so excited to make these!  Hubby hates coconut (isn’t coconut one of those love-it or hate-it things?) and I really wanted to make them so I finally had a reason!  The recipe is my Aunt Karen’s – I like it because it doesn’t have cream cheese.  They were really tasty!

And of course, St. Patty’s wouldn’t be complete without a visit from our own little leprachaun O’McPeanut…

Some shots from the Belmar St. Patty’s Day Parade…

“Good times, good friends, good health to you…and the luck of the Irish in all that you do.” – Author Unknown

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Holidays, Quotable Wednesday

One response to “On “being” Irish

  1. Sara

    the pics of her are too funny, she looks like she’s thinking “why am I wearing this?”

Leave a Reply

