Happy Mother’s Day!

Dear Peanut,

It has become tradition for me to write you a letter on Mother’s Day.  As with everything else on this blog these days, this is coming late.  =)  I seriously cannot believe that this is my third Mother’s Day.  In some ways, I feel like it was just yesterday that you were born and I was crazily euphoric and terrified at the same time.  In other ways, I feel like I have been a mother my whole life.  I can barely remember what it felt like to not be a mother.  All of the little mothering moments that fill up my day are so normal and routine and wonderful.  I love being a mother.  I love being your mother.  This year you have become even more of your own little person and every day I am so excited by it – but I also feel a little sad because I wonder if with each milestone you may need me a little less.   I try to remind myself that maybe you won’t need me less, just different.  Maybe instead of tying shoes and helping you find the arm holes you will need me to listen to what’s wrong, need me to be there to cheer you on.  And that I will.  As any mother (or father knows) I will always see you as my little baby even when you are fifteen or fifty.  May you always see me as your mommy.  Until then, I will cherish all of the little moments – even the potty training, the tantrums, the boogers – and the days like today when you are under the weather and in need of mommy snuggles.  I love you, Peanut.

Love,

Your Mommy Forever

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Kay

    A beautiful letter – and a lovely tradition. Thanks for sharing.
    Kay

  2. Aunt Adele

    I had tears in my eyes reading this and remembering my own experience as a mommy. What a treasure your letters will be for Amelia when she grows up.

  3. Jay

    Beautiful use if the english language, Becster Love you,,,

Leave a Reply

